UPCOMING: Events

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new member intro

Default new member intro

Just saying hi to everyone. My name is Chris Powell. Been in SA for a year now (air force member @ lackland). I am very new to reefing (tank been up for 3 months now). I am running a 6 gallong fluval edge reef.. funny most people start big and then go smaller.. I guess I'm just backwards. So far no major issues except my nightmare nitrate problem (between 40-80ppm with API kit). I don't have any fish.. just coral and inverts. Well thats bout it for now. Feel free to hit me up anytime about anything. Thanks guys.. Happy Reefing ^^

PS. Tank pic with be up soon

Default new member intro

First, thank you for serving our Country.
    Second, API Nitrate tests are notorious for being off. At one time mine read blood red, panicked and took water sample to LFS. Their tests showed 10-20

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    To all Military.....Thank you for your service

Default new member intro

Welcome. Thank you.

I second the trouble with API test kits. I have a Red Sea kit you're welcome to come get and try your luck with.
    John

"Critics are men who watch a battle from a high place and then come down and shoot the survivors." Ernest Hemingway

Thank you for serving! And welcome to our beautiful city

Hard to imagine where those kind of nitrates would even come from with no fish, only coral and inverts! Can't be right.

PS: welcome to MAAST and San Antonio. Appreciate your military service.
    http://www.millan.net/minimations/sm...riumsmile1.gif - Kristy and Mike -

210 g reef tank started 3/15/08; 20 g hex reef tank started 1/3/08, ended 3/30/14

"I must be a mermaid.... I have no fear of depths and a great fear of shallow living." - Anais Nin
    "To travel is to take a journey into yourself." - Danny Kaye

Default new member intro